macOS Sequoia will require regular permissions updates to use screen recording and screen-sharing capabilities. The software is in its , and the new Apple operating system has added pop-up notifications that will ask users to confirm that software has access to the device’s video and audio. For now, there doesn’t appear to be a way to permanently grant permissions to third-party apps. Developers confirmed with that this is a feature, not a bug. We’ve reached out to Apple for more information and will update this post with any additional details we receive.
These permissions alerts in Sequoia will pop up weekly, as well as the first time a relevant app is opened after a reboot. This security feature will be triggered by both third-party apps focused on screen recording and general programs that have screen-sharing capabilities, such as Zoom, Slack or Discord.
This feature might remind you of the User Account Controls from the Windows Vista days. We haven’t run into this permissions issue in our time with the beta version of macOS Sequoia, so it’s hard to say if the Apple version will be quite as infuriating as the Microsoft pop-ups.
macOS Sequoia does bring other useful updates to the computing experience. As well as introducing AI features with , the update will let users see their iPhone screen on their Macbooks, and can distracting pop-ups in Safari.
Wired has the story of a superuser cheating scandal. celenk88/Shutterstock Professional…
The oil market may soon reach a point where the dust finally settles enough to…
Today, we present a guest post written by Jeffrey Frankel, Harpel Professor at Harvard’s Kennedy School…
A miner operating through FutureBit’s Apollo Solo setup found Bitcoin block 973,262 earlier this week,…
The midterm elections on Nov. 3 threaten to break Republicans’ trifecta, with the House and…
Home insurance typically covers storm damage caused by wind, hail, lightning, and the weight of…